I Hear You Calling, But I’m All Bound Up

Standard

John 11:43-44

And when he thus had spoken, he cried with a loud voice, Lazarus, come forth.And he that was dead came forth, bound hand and foot with grave-clothes: and his face was bound about with a napkin…

In 1843, an African American man by the name of Henry Highland Garnet gave one of the more moving and heartfelt speeches of all time. It was during the National Negro Convention of 1843, Mr. Garnet gave a speech entitled, An Address to the Slaves of the United States. In his inspiring speech, Mr. Garnet made a radical call for liberty; challenging his fellow brothers and sisters to take a stand against the injustice of slavery. His purpose was to stir the hearts of slaves across the country, and encourage them that they could be more, do more and experience more! He Challenged his audience to invoke all of their resources, efforts and time to ensure that freedom and true liberty would be achieved, regardless of the price to be payed. But as his speech progressed the tone shifted; Mr. Garnet turned his attention to the real problem. He begins a plea for a mentality change…

You act as though you were made for the special use of these devils. You act as though your daughters were made to pamper the lusts of your masters and overseers. And worse than all, you tamely submit while your Lords tear your wives from your embraces and defile them before your eyes…

-Henry Highland Garnet

This statement, in my opinion, is one of the greatest statements ever spoken. Mr. Garnet revealed that the issue at hand isn’t slavery at all, but rather it’s the mindset of the slave! As long as a slave stays bound to the mentality of a slave, they will forever live under the bondage of a slave. This statement still rings today; how many of us live life as though we were somehow created for a life of bondage and persecution. And now you have simply accepted slavery as your life, and you have convinced yourself that you will never know anything better. This is a chilling reminder of the effects of bondage…

Bondage will destroy your will power, and cause you to submit to things that are weaker than you are!

bound

As we look at the story of Lazarus we see a man who has been dead four days, and his body had already began to decompose (made evident by Mary saying he stinks by now). ANd After Jesus calls him out of that tomb, the Bible illustrates to us that Lazarus was still bound. It says he was bound hand and foot with a napkin around his face.

His hands were bound…

His feet were bound…

His face was bound…

This tells me that Lazarus couldn’t work, he couldn’t walk and he couldn’t talk! And this is where the apostolic church is losing the battle; we’re so bound by things in our lives that we can’t work for God, walk with God or even talk to God!

Matthew 16:23

But he turned, and said unto Peter, get thee behind me, Satan; for thou art an offense unto me: for thou savorest not the things that be of God, but those things that be of men

Wow, did Jesus just call Peter Satan? I thought Peter was his chosen disciple? Actually, if we look closer Jesus isn’t calling Peter Satan at all. The word savorest here is the Greek word fron-eh-o meaning mindset or thought pattern. What Jesus is saying here is that Peter’s mindset is from Satan; and that, Jesus said, is offensive! Jesus was giving them insight into Calvary, and Peter objected. His objection to the will of God caused Jesus to get offended. You see Peter had difficulty understanding the revelation, so he reverted to his level of comfort. We too have this tendency, if we feel intimidated by the direction God is calling us, we revert to our level of comfort, and camp out in a valley of normality. This is what Jesus said offends him! We have replaced our trust in God for trust in people. We have substituted our need for God with the need for people. We’re so caught up trying to win the applause of man, that we have lost the favor of God!

This is how Satan will attack you, he’s powerless against you so he will try and infiltrate your mind with what I call the less mess mentality. He’ll shift your mind, like he did to Peter, from the things of God to the things of this world. Now instead of realizing your potential, or seeing the potential your church has; you only see the problems. Instead of focusing on your talents and using them for God, you focus only on the talents you don’t have. This is where the less mess mentality is birthed. The objective of hell is to make you feel powerless; so he will bombard your mind with junk, so you will feel USELESS, WORTHLESS, HELPLESS, PURPOSELESS and HOPELESS! And so instead of actively pursuing ministry we have learned to accept our lives as slaves, and like those slaves that Mr. Garnet was reaching for we have learned to just live with it!

I struggled with this mentality at the beginning of my ministry. All my life I was reminded of how inadequate I was. If I had a dollar for every person who didn’t believe in me, I’d be a rich young man! Family members tried to persuade me not to attempt anything for God, they said I wouldn’t be able to provide for my family. That extended even to Bible College where I was quickly reminded by students and unfortunately Pastors and Instructors how I would never amount to any thing. But somehow all the noise was canceled out by a still small voice in the back of my mind….If God be for you!!!! If God be for you!!!

I learned quickly after that, the only person in my life who can determine my success or failure is me! If I believe I can do it, nobody can stop me! If I accept my limitations and believe the naysayers, nobody can help me!

Paul standing before King Agrippa, bounds with chains; said these chains do not define me! O King, I think my self happy!

Proverbs 23:7

As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he!

I challenge all who read this, begin to think yourself happy! Begin to think yourself into ministry! Begin to think yourself healed, delivered and set free! If you can think it, you can have it! Ever wonder why God told Moses to send spies out into the promised land? Because there is a principle we need to learn; you can’t posses the promise, until the promise possesses you! Like that children’s story of the little engine that could…..

I THINK I CAN, I THINK I CAN, I THINK I CAN!!

i think i can

2 thoughts on “I Hear You Calling, But I’m All Bound Up

Leave a Reply

