The Value of the Mantle Part 2 The Power Behind the Mantle

Standard

2 Kings 2:8-15

And Elijah took his mantle, and wrapped it together, and smote the waters, and they were divided hither and thither, so that they two went over on dry ground. And it came to pass, when they were gone over, that Elijah said unto Elisha, Ask what I shall do for thee, before I be taken away from thee. And Elisha said, I pray thee, let a double portion of thy spirit be upon me.And he said, Thou hast asked a hard thing: nevertheless, if thou see me when I am taken from thee, it shall be so unto thee; but if not, it shall not be so.And it came to pass, as they still went on, and talked, that, behold, there appeared a chariot of fire, and horses of fire, and parted them both asunder; and Elijah went up by a whirlwind into heaven.And Elisha saw it, and he cried, My father, my father, the chariot of Israel, and the horsemen thereof. And he saw him no more: and he took hold of his own clothes, and rent them in two pieces.He took up also the mantle of Elijah that fell from him, and went back, and stood by the bank of Jordan;And he took the mantle of Elijah that fell from him, and smote the waters, and said, Where is the Lord God of Elijah? and when he also had smitten the waters, they parted hither and thither: and Elisha went over. And when the sons of the prophets which were to view at Jericho saw him, they said, The spirit of Elijah doth rest on Elisha. And they came to meet him, and bowed themselves to the ground before him.

Now the story picks up after Elisha has committed to following Elijah. He has dedicated his life now, to being as close to the man of God as possible. It is amazing to me, the amount of young ministers, and even saints for that matter, who have little to no respect for the man of God in their lives. We all desire the impartation of an elder, that moment when we can receive years worth of wisdom and knowledge. But impartation does not come from listening them talk, it comes from watching them walk! If you want to learn what someone thinks listen, however if you desire to learn how someone lives, watch them! What I say does not reflect my character, what I do does. In this hour if we are to receive an impartation from our elders, it will require that same diligence that Elisha possessed.

So here we find the moment of transition, Elijah is leaving soon, and he asks Elisha a very intriguing question. Before I’m taken, what can I do for you? In my opinion this is not the words of Elijah, but God speaking through the prophet. And Elisha gets bold, his request at first glance seems brash and over the top. I want double what you had! Oh Elisha you have asked a hard thing, but if you see me  when I am taken it shall be yours. And then it happens, chariots of fire roar out of heaven, Elijah is taken in this whirlwind of fire and glory….. and there it is….. the mantle…

elisha

I believe in my spirit that this generation of believers will be an Elisha generation. We have the potential to be apart of the greatest season of revival the world has ever known! After all Jesus is the one who told his disciples in John 14:12, “…he that believeth on me, he works that I do shall he do also, and greater works than these shall he do…” Not only does God expect us to do what he did, his purpose for anointing a church was to raise the bar and to take this thing to the next level! But first we must believe on him! Daniel prophesied in Daniel 11:32, “the people that do know their God shall be strong, and do exploits” Notice the emphasis is not on the exploits, the emphasis is on knowing Him! These 2 passages reveal the will of God, He wants his church to be powerful, effective and full of exploits! But the undeniable truth is; without knowing God, and without believing in him we will never see this kind of power!

We must understand that Elisha never revived a double portion anointing until Elisha first fulfilled the duties of the mantle! Elisha understood, it’s not about the miracles, it’s not about the flash and the excitement, it’s all about Him! Notice Elisha after he finally holds that mantle in his hands, he walks to the last place Elijah ever operated in the gifts at, and he imitates what Elijah did and cries, “where is the God of Elijah!” If I don’t figure out what made Elijah who he was, this mantle will be powerless and ineffective! Before I can ever start my own ministry, before I can perform in the gifts of this mantle, I first have to have an encounter with the God of Elijah!

I fear where this generation may be heading without this mindset in place! being apostolic is not good enough, receiving impartation at a mantle program is not good enough; I don’t want to learn what they do, I want to learn what makes them do what they do! My prayer isn’t for the exploits of T.W. Barnes or J.T. Pugh; my prayer is where is the God that they knew! I want to experience God like they experienced God! The Lord really dealt with me about this topic at the first of the year and it has been one of the strongest driving forces of my ministry, the power is not in the mantle, the power is behind the mantle! The mantle symbolizes more than just a position, or an anointing; before God will release that anointing in this generation he first wants to know…

Do you Value the Mantle?

Are you worthy to carry the mantle? Elisha do you treasure what’s been handed to you? Do you believe in his doctrine? Do you trust his methods? Will you be willing to walk in the same direction he walked in? Will you pray like he prayed? Will you fast like he fasted?

Do not abandon the duties of the mantle in search of the anointing!

God has positioned the apostolic church with great heritage of Godly men and woman; they have shown us how to be successful and how to be powerful in ministry! My question is, if 3-4-5 fasts are what it took to get us here; and if all night prayer meetings are what it took to bring us this far; then why are we forsaking the duties of the mantle now? Prayer meetings are not extracurricular activities! Fasting is not reserved for a select few! Holiness and separation are not optional! Being apostolic is more than just radical worship!! There is a mantle we wear, and we must never corrupt the value of the mantle!

  • I still believe in Hear O Israel, The Lord our God is one Lord!
  • I still believe in Jesus name baptism!
  • I still believe in holiness, and that without holiness no man shall see the Lord!

In Genesis 26, Isaac is on a journey to discover the wells of Abraham. As he uncovers these ancient landmarks of faith, he finds a new revelation of God, and builds his own altar and digs his own well. The only way we will discover new revelations from God, is by going back to the ancient landmarks of faith, and to start uncovering the revelations of old!

If your new revelation doesn’t come from the old revelation, it’s not a revelation…. it’s deception!

One thought on “The Value of the Mantle Part 2 The Power Behind the Mantle

Leave a Reply

