The “Tolerant” Society

Standard

judgmental

Christians are so judgmental!

Christians are so close-minded!

Christians are so annoying with their self-righteousness!

What amazes me with all of this negative criticism we get for being Christian, is many of us are falsely labeled simply for believing in God. This whole philosophy of “don’t judge me, your not perfect” is getting old! I mean really, has society digressed to the point where every one just argues like my 2 year old and 4 year old?

Your a pop-head! No, YOU’RE a pop head! – True story

Watching people in today’s culture throwing insults at each other often leaves me scratching my head wondering, “What’s a pop head?” What I often find in dealing with people, including other Christians, is this preconceived, premeditated response simply based on false stereotypes. I’m Pentecostal, United Pentecostal to be exact, and I’m proud of that. However, I can’t even count the number of times I’ve been misrepresented by someone else’s misunderstanding. “You’re Pentecostal? Isn’t that a cult?” Just because I’m UPC doesn’t mean I’m an alien from another planet! I mean give me a break, for the few months you knew me as just Josh I was cool, now I have 3 eyes and antennas growing out of my head! Where did all of this come from? I don’t approach people who don’t attend church and say, “Oh, you’re not a Christian? Doesn’t that mean you’re going to Hell?” That would be ridiculous, yet while we attempt to live our lives pleasing to the Lord, we are the ones labeled intolerant as society continues to get a pass. Am I the only one seeing that? 

I will admit, a lot of the stereotyping of Christians is our own fault. After all, I have met some not so pleasant people who claimed to be Christians, but allowing the actions of a small minority determine your prejudice is just wrong!

This is where our country is in a mess…

In our own feeble attempts to justify our actions we have created an escape from moral consciousness. It’s called toleration!

Tolerance-Bumper-Sticker-(7103)

So what is a tolerant? A tolerant can be described, according to the online dictionary as – a person who is inclined to tolerate the beliefs, practices, or traits of others. In line with the definition, toleration seems like a great attribute. I would label myself as a tolerant, but nothing about toleration says I have to accept it or agree with it! Our society has taken toleration to a completely different level. Now they mean for us to not only accept their beliefs, but they want us to conform to them!

Let’s get the picture… God was too offensive to be in public settings, He should stay in Church and in our homes. So the “tolerant” people removed our RIGHT to freedom of religion! Now they are shoving their agendas down our throats and expecting us to agree. And yet we’re the ones labeled “intolerant”? So now  teaching MY kids in MY home about God’s principle of marriage is corrupting them and teaching them to be like me, “intolerant”. Yet in PUBLIC schools they can teach MY kids that homosexuality is normal? In MY home teaching that Jesus is God is considered “close-minded” yet in PUBLIC schools they can teach the principles of Islam? And I’m the one who’s “intolerant”? Our society has created a culture in which we can no longer have an opinion. And any opinion we have that is contrary to this new “tolerant” philosophy is considered wrong.

I don’t believe in this societies concept of toleration. I don’t believe I should change what I know about God and His word to fit your lifestyle! I shouldn’t be forced to teach my kids that either! My kids deserve to know what the Bible says, my kids deserve to know what God thinks. My kids deserve to grow up learning about mercy, grace and truth!

Culture may change…But God never changes!

Methods may change….But God never changes!

Ideologies and Philosophies may change….But God never changes!

Governments and politics change….But God never changes!

Malachi 3:6, “I am The Lord, I change not…”
Hebrews 13:8, “Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today and forever”

You can choose to conform to this idea of toleration, but as for me and my house…WE WILL SERVE THE LORD!! –Joshua 24:15

That doesn’t mean we won’t love you, include you and respect you. It simply means I won’t condone your lifestyle! Instead of accepting your sins I choose to believe…

grace is bigger than sin

Leave a Reply

