The Second Miracle

Standard

the second miracle

Miracles are fascinating wonders! Miracles were the credentials of our savior Jesus Christ. We are introduced to the purpose of these miracles in John’s gospel, as he methodically positions each miracle to teach his audience a revelation of who Jesus was. As John begins writing to his audience, he introduces us to Jesus’ miraculous power in the second chapter of John as Jesus and His disciples are attending a wedding in Cana. At best, we can assume that this wedding was for a relative of Mary, and we can also assume based on the text that Mary was in charge of the kitchen. And as the servants rush to serve the guests, suddenly a startling reality was discovered! They ran out of wine.

So Mary turns to the servants of the wedding, and she looks over at Jesus and says, “Whatever He says to do, do it!” Now understand, we have the luxury of hindsight and the luxury of understanding exactly who Jesus is, these servants did not! They had no idea who He was except that He was Mary’s son. And so when Jesus told them to take the water pots that were used for the purifying of the Jews, or more accurately the basins of water that were used to wash the feet of the guests, these servants had to be terrified.

Now, I don’t believe that these servants acted in faith. In fact I’m almost sure of it. Because when they carried the water out to serve it to the governor of the feast, it was still slimy, dirty, nasty foot water! Yet, when Mary left Jesus in charge, Jesus became their boss! And so even though they didn’t believe the water would be wine, they acted in obedience to His words!

There is something powerful about obedience! There’s something incredible about just doing what God says to do. Even when it doesn’t make sense, and even when it feels pointless, because God always responds to obedience! 

When the servants just followed His words, the miraculous happened! Isn’t it amazing when what happens when we just follow the word? Isn’t incredible when we just do what God says to do! Sometimes we just need to stop trying to justify our “belief” systems and we just need to walk in obedience to His word!

  • Except a man be born again of the water and of the spirit, he cannot enter nor see the kingdom of God! (John 3:5)
  • He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved! (Mark 16:16)
  • Neither is there salvation in any other, for there is none other name, under heaven, given among men, whereby we must be saved! (Acts 4:12)
  • Have you received the Holy Ghost since you believed? (Acts 19:12)
  • Repent and be baptized, every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of your sins and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost! (Acts 2:38)
  • And ye shall have power after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you! (Acts 1:8)

There’s power when you just obey the word!

The Bible says that this was the beginning, or first, of miracles and that the disciples believed on Him. This miracle was about transformation! This is what God wants to do in the life of every believer, transform you into something great! But when you move through John’s gospel and come to John 4 you see another miracle, or what the Bible calls the second miracle of Cana.

Now after Jesus leaves Samaria, the Bible says in John 4:45, “Then when he was come into Galilee, the Galileans received him, having seen all the things that he did at Jerusalem at the feast: for they also went unto the feast.” In other words the fame of the first miracle was still alive in Galilee, and the people received Jesus because of what He did. And so when Jesus walks into Cana, the bible says there was a certain nobleman whose son was sick at Capernaum. Capernaum was located just outside of Galilee, on the northern shore of the Sea of Galilee. The wording of the text that he heard that Jesus was come out of Judaea into Galilee suggests that perhaps Jesus was going away from where his sick son lay dying, and that Jesus was getting out of reach from his son. So he ran to meet him, and he began to plead with Jesus to come and heal his son because his son was at the point of death.

The response of Jesus seems to be very cold and compassion-less, as Jesus looks at him and says, “Except you see signs and wonders, ye will not believe.” Understand there was a crowd around Jesus, this was not a one on one conversation, and Jesus wasn’t just speaking to this man, he was speaking to the entire city and even to His disciples. You see Jesus wants people to believe in Him and His word, but the citizens of Galilee required miracles. So Jesus rebukes the city and the nobleman and says I’m not giving in to your demands for the miraculous!

You need to understand Jesus does not respond to needs! And He will not be swayed by your demands for the miraculous! Yet the nobleman cried more unto Jesus saying please come down to my house before my son dies. And I love what Jesus does next, although if I were the father of this boy I probably wouldn’t have. Jesus looks back at him and says, “Go thy way, thy son liveth.” The Common English Bible says it this way, “Go home! Your son lives.”

This is how I would picture this scene in 2015. The father begging Jesus, saying my son is going to die; and Jesus looking at him and saying, “Go home, your son is going to be alright.”! Now if I was this nobleman my reaction would’ve been, “that’s easy for you to say”! You see most people would’ve asked Jesus, how am I supposed to know everything will be OK? How am I to know that when I get home he won’t be dead? Can’t you give me some kind of a sign so I can know? Why won’t you just come with me and that way you can touch him yourself.

But the Bible says that the man believed the word Jesus had spoken unto him, and he went his way. And when he was on his way home, his servants met him, and they told him, your son is alive! And when he asked at what hour he started improving, the bible says that his servants told him it was yesterday about the seventh hour and he didn’t improve the fever just left! And the father knew that it was at the same moment when Jesus said your son lives. And the Bible says, he and his entire house believed. And this is the second miracle!

Now I want you to understand, the second miracle was not about Jesus healing this man’s son! This miracle was about a man saying, I don’t need a sign or a miracle to believe! I just need a word! And If I have a word from God, I’ve got everything I need!

I have been asking God recently, why don’t we see more miracles. My wife and I were just taking about this the other day. And I hear preachers tell the stories of blinded eyes opening, and I hear the stories of dead people being raised, and I wonder why we don’t see those things happening in Tyler? And it was as if the Lord began to rebuke me, and it was as if He was telling me, you don’t have the faith for the miraculous. Because you’re still living in the first miracle, and your faith is connected into what I do! And so when I don’t heal, you doubt, and when I don’t deliver you question. And when I don’t do stuff for you your faith begins to shrink. And I will never operate in an atmosphere of dependent faith!

I’m thankful for the first miracle, when God came into my life and changed me, and proved to me that He was real and that He was God. But I can’t stay at the first miracle, I need a second miracle, where my faith isn’t connected into what He does, but my faith rests in who He is! And so if I pray 1,000 times and God doesn’t heal, it doesn’t change who He is! He is still the healer! And when I pray 100 times for provision and God doesn’t provide, He’s still the provider! What He does and what He doesn’t do, does not determine who He is! Who He is determines what He does! And when my faith is in the right place, I can continue to pray in faith!

When Thomas touched the nail scarred hands, and when he touched the wound on His side, Thomas exclaimed my Lord, and my God! And Jesus responded and said, “Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.”
Thomas, it took you seeing the signs of my resurrection in order to believe! But there is coming a people after you, who will not have the luxury of seeing me in person. But they will still believe, because they have my word!

Psalm 105 says, “He sent a man before them, even Joseph, who was sold for a servant: Whose feet they hurt with fetters: he was laid in iron: Until the time that his word came: the word of the LORD tried him.” This is why we need to move into the realm of the second miracle. Because sometimes the word doesn’t come to heal you, and sometimes the word doesn’t come to deliver you; sometimes the word comes to try you! Because if Joseph would’ve been delivered from the prison prematurely he never would’ve made it to Pharaoh’s house, and his family would’ve died in the famine!

You might be in a struggle right now, maybe sickness, death or distress torments your mind. But allow His word to come, and don’t demand the miraculous; trust His word!

Leave a Reply

